PART-5.... jiit fresher's play 2010..

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Gangs of Wasseypur 1 &2

If you have seen the film(the whole 5 hour film at a stretch).......then you must feel proud to be having anurag kashyap in bollywood.......though I have been his huge fan since black friday.........but every great director has a peak.....and I thought dev.d was his peak. But surprise surprise....anurag delivers something that is beyond brilliant. The problem I am facing in this review is to decide where to start.....what all to talk.....the film is packed with such a huge package of superb cinema with it.....Let us start with the film`s dark humor.......which is witty....very very witty indeed.....the film`s dialogues.......packing the exact feel of bihar.......the cinematography.....top notch......music.....unbelievable.......Kashyap starts the film with kyuki saas bhi kabhi bahu thi.......and den den suddenly gunfires break the television......stating, in one single scene, the life in wasseypur to be exact opposite to the show.....and it is this type of creative symbolisms that kashayap has packed  that really take you on a ride of over 5 hours.....which will be one of the best cinematic ride of your life.......I am again falling short of words ....to really describe this masterpiece.....the concept of Womaniya.....the scene were sardar khan kills pehalwaan...the scene were shahid khan kills a man...with his coal coated face.....the scene were sardar khan describes his motives in life to his wife.....the scene were wasseypur`s kasaai ghar is shown.....the sequence were faisal khan kills the person who killed his dada.....the scene were faisal discovers his grand chacha and mom making out......the scene were faisal kisses his mom and tells her that he l be the one to take the revenge of all....the sequences of faisal and sardar khan flirting.....the scene were sardar khan is killed(where jiya ho bihar pe lala plays).....the scene when perpendicular is killed....the scene were randhir singh abuses cinema lovers....the last hospital scene.....the last scene(where faisal`s left family is shown staying at a chawl in mumbai)....o......please someone stop me........This is how powerfully the film struck me.......The film has an enormous gripping direction....that gets to you.....and you come out of the theatre (if u have seen the whole film together) ....feeling heavy....bt privileged......to be a part of the audience who witnessed something of this magnitude.....
The last thing I want to comment on is acting......Faisal Khan......well he was ultimate......no doubt...the way he captured the role of a "indulged in drug mafia".....his dialogue delivery...his expressions......simply majestic......Manoj Bajpai.....one of his best roles.....his "little-little" were enough to make you laugh like hell.....his mannerisms......his accent......majestic again......nagma......whose role develops slowly ....bt becomes truely memorable towards the end......the narrator.....he was the best narrator I have ever seen......rest all the cast was superb(I want to,though, discuss them all......But time issues are stoping me)......Anurag Kashyap......"Poorna Samarpan"...overall 4.5 to 5 on 5    


Monday, July 23, 2012

The Dark Knight Rises


Filmmakers always keep on trying to keep their films unpredictable. The fact is that a predictable plot always  deviates ones attention from the movie. Bt there is also a fact that Christopher Nolan is no ordinary director. And he proves the same once again. There are many sequences in the film tht can be predicted, and even then those are also the scenes that will get millions of goosbums over u. Such is the magnitude of the direction of Nolan. Magical is the only word that can describe it. ..........The film is never rushed through. It takes its time to build. Bt the thing is that the thing in which it builds up is ultimate. The thought or the vision that nolan had abt batman has been carried forward to an another level here. Batman, all because of nolan, will now stay in our hearts forever. The last half hour of the film takes you to a crazyy journey of imaginations, twists, visions, emotions and what not. The rise scene, the courtroom scene, the robin concept......Well i feel very small to comment on such a work. Even the acting department is top notch....especially bane(batman)....
Though I have some issues with the perfection of the film(some immature errors can clearly be seen...a scene in the rugby stadium where one can notice bane looking at camera for a second)......also the mask on bane never allows his expressions to make an impact(though even then....the rest body language of bane makes a great impact.....bt doesnt allow him to go to the level that Joker set).....bt lets not take anything away from this pure spectacle.....A definite watch....4 on 5 

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Ferrari ki Sawari


This summer is proving to be rather great so far for bollywood.....Shanghai and now ferrari....gangs of wasseypur is  lined up too........By saying this , I donot mean tht ferrari matched with the standards tht Shanghai set.....nor does it belong to the high standards set by raj kumar hirani`s rest.....bcz of it being a bit overstretched(poor editing), has a song ferari ki sawari tht takes away the flow of the film a bit,the film resembles a bit to iqbal and also the film isnt really able to crack the comic sequences well enough......but still the film is very gud.....mainly bcz it gets some superb emotional sequences(like the one where sharamn tells his son abt his grandpa...the scene were boman meets paresh....and many more)..., has very gud characters....a very good story lines....and wonderful performances by boman(though nt a pathbreaking acting...bt a splendid one),sharman,paresh rawal(too gud in tht small role)...and the kid as well.......The direction is resonably gud(I cant understand y hirani didnt direct it)....specially the part where boman`s past is shown...The film is undoubtably gud....bt gets some parts wrong......overall 3 to 3and half out of 5 

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Shanghai


Which side  are you on???? The trash bollywood tht is producing shits like rowdy side or the cinema tht is evolving towards the world cinema the world has been being thrilled with.......Shanghai truely deserves an applause.....nt just bcz its just a meaningful cinema in the crowd of rowdys.....bt bcz of something amasing it offers to us......the film takes the real political scenario of india and mixes it in the imaginative world of bharatnagar.......with very believable characters.......What works for Shanghai is its unbelievable direction and acting........Talking abt the direction......well it was something very special....dibanker has made a film which was very gripping.....and the scenes are directed in a way tht l remain in ur head fr days......like the accident scene....the scene were different people describe differnt versions of the accident....the scene were hashmi runs with the laptop....the last scene...were abhay opens up.....and the concept of shanghai is introduced......mindboggling.....
Talking abt acting......hashmi was the standout performer(I still cant believe it)....his character portrayal  and acting was top notch.....the way he slips into the tuppori guy role is something nobody could imagine.......abhay deol was superb too......his role was tht of an under dog.....bt he still managed to pull something tht is his career best.....the doctor was impactful ...kalki...though didnt offer nything new....was superb.....her burst out scenes were too superb.....farooq sheik was likable....pitobash did a spectacular job as well....overall the whole cast was on fire alongwith the director......Cinematography was impressive as well.....though somehow I felt tht the director underplayed towards the end(though end was rocking).....and doesnt uses any music to multiply the impact of the film.....bt afterall tht was his vision.....mixing up imagination with reality....nthing taken away on tht....thumbs up dibanker......almost 4 on 5 



Thursday, May 31, 2012

Ishakzaade


After all we dnt watch only those films tht are  boom boom hits....sometimes we watch films aiwai....for time pass.....dis was the case with Ishakzaade for me.......although I was interested a bit in watching the film due to its director(who made do dooni chaar ...which was excellent).....coming back to the film.....Ishakzaade is very raw......in every sense.....the screenplay is very raw.....by tht wht I mean is tht the plot is hazy...dragged at times....with some over filmy dialogues.......The direction is very raw too.....ie, there are some ups in between.....esp in 2nd half....bt at most times....the direction falls poorly......The music is very good....and is well utilised in the 2nd half.....though songs in between were overstretched....The acting is very raw too....both the leads bringing some gud expressions in some scenes....while in other scenes looking vulnerable.....parineeti was better in her 1st film....here she looks a little less polished....though still manages a decent act.....But the only thing tht works in the film is tht....ultimately the film DEVELOPS A SPARKLING CHEMISTRY BETWEEN THE LEADS....and gets a little bit of the soul to it....towards the end...though end was NOT HANDLED WELL ATALL....bt overall not a bad film....2 and half out of 5 

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

BOMBAY

So finally I have discovered  why Mani Ratnam is indeed a fine director.(though guru was fantastic as well, yuva was almost gud,raavan was just avg)......Bombay is a rare film tht gets almost everything in right place.......starting with direction......which is a thoroughly engaging one and peeks up at the right places.......the emotions are well captured .....the characterisations and relationship building has been handled superbly.....be it father son relationship....be it husband wife relationship....be it father father-in-law relationship....be it the twin brother relationship...all handled superbly....... The depiction of riots ...though a bit stretched .....is wonderfully handled as well.......CINEMATOGRAPHY was top notch......the way it has been handled in the riot scenes is just majestic(special reference to the scene where kabir asks the eunique abt the muslim hindu difference)......with tht kind of a resources ....it was unbelievable......Screenplay was impressive as well......the symbolisms  ....the story build up....... have been written really well......Acting....well tht was excellent as well....not even a single character lagged in any form......everybdy was very much into the character....and was brilliant.....Music was wonderful as well....the film served us with some fine tracks by A.R Rahman.....though some songs could have been deleted from the film......Overall....a very engaging, touching and amasing experience.....a definite MUST WATCH......thumbs up to MANI RATNAM......4 on 5

Monday, May 7, 2012

Avengers


After all tht hoopla abt the film among the audiences as well as critics......I went to see it, even when I knew tht i have never been into the avengers` comics(though I used to play captain america video game when I was 9 or 10 .....Bcz of which I used to like him.....bt the film unfortunately shows him to be mighty hearted bt with least powers....) . Even then Avengers appealed to me. Reason : its smart and witty presentation, backed up with some fine action sequences and some excellent comic dialogues (I HAVE ONE LITTLE SECRET.....says Hulk......and an another one.....where Loki says to Hulk....Enough...I am god ....u kant just hit me like dis....and the scene after tht got tears in my eyes....after laughing my lungs out.......and many many more).......
But the film has predictability....though....the filmmakers still keep the movie high on logics(in terms of believability of the plot and super heroes stuff).......in acting deptt.....iron man I liked.....captain america was nyce too....rest were just fyne...nthing much to be discussed.......bt overall....AN EXCELLENT POPCORN FLICK ...for the non avengers` comic followers......overall 3 on 5

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Vicky Donor

Entertainers like dis are actually the most intelligent idea by any producer in India. Reason: General janta has no cinematic sense in India(dis view of mine is sounding like a prejudice...bt it isnt....i have seen enough of the people`s crap cinematic senses).....and love either of the 4 things namely, Comedy(with or without sense), Loudness,Cheapness and Virtual High logic(like don 2)....and thts it...nthing else......The film fulfills the 1st and 3rd demand.....hence is hit among the audiences......moreover movie is almost good for the cinema lovers.......REASON :
1. Its fresh and very interesting and natural plot and dialogues tht are set amidst South Delhi.....the city of rufugee punjabees.......that gets you to the theatre even after film being a small scale film.
2. Comedy ...which is again fresh and effortless and on the top of that ....its not non-sense......which is a rare element
3. Interesting characters.....the donor himself, the doctor, the daadi(who drinks liquor with her daughter in law and pokes her), the mummy...
4. Acting.....anu kapoor was excellent(though he lacked perfection in initial scenes)....aayushmaan....who acted in an average manner....bt he still managed to pull off some good comic scenes....and the last scene.....The dadi.....who was natural and very interesting to watch....
5. Some nyce moments.....like when aayushmaan arrives late to home and his mothr holds his hand and starts murmring...the song paani daa rang dekh ke.....the wedding....some annu kapoor`s comic scenes....the last scene....were aayushmaan sees his daughter....

But the film post the fite between the protagonists drags......and plot becomes predictable.....and immaturish.....the songs start to fall blank.....but still picks up alright towards the end.....
Overall almost 3 on 5

Monday, April 16, 2012

Titanic 3-D


Disclaimer: Dis review wont include opinions about how the film is. Because indulging into the discussion of whether titanic is good or bad , is pointless . Titanic is one of the cinematic experiences tht takes your breath away right from its 1st frame, and glues u to the seat till its last frame, leaving with u its memories ....memories of jack and rose...memories of their majestic journey on ship tht was built with such a great passion......memories of their love story tht is undoubtably the best this world has ever witnessed....
A film thts so pure and perfect in almost every sense.......speaking of its technicalities will  again be pointless.....
Ever since i saw titanic as a grown up.....I wanted to experience it on the big screen.......Now when I saw it in 3-D, I FELT I WENT 1 LAYER CLOSER TO THE CHARACTERS......THE FIRST PERSON SCENES  MADE ME FEEL MORE ENGAGED AND GOOSBUMY...ALLOWING ME TO FEEL MORE CLOSELY ABT WHT WAS HAPPENING THERE IN THE SHIP OF SPLENDID CINEMA .....I ENJOYED THE FILM JUST AS MUCH I DID THE 1ST TYME I SAW IT...AND EVEN MORE......

Overall a must must watch for all the cinema lovers......worth spending

Monday, March 12, 2012

KAHAANI


And bollywood impresses again......with producing its best thriller till date.......The film has showcased a lot in one package.........1.a gr8 THRILLER DIRECTION & SCREENPLAY combo....tht gets the interest to build up slowly ...ultimately blowing away viewers` minds.....with a totally unpredictable climax.....and very interesting one too(arjun ka saarthi...super creative dialogue.......and not forget the concept of KAHAANI)......
2. a gr8 showcase of the city...The director very intelligently presents the city making it so very appealing,deep and deep rooted in its history....
3.a very well developed relation between vidya and arnab...(tht attaches soul to the film)...and vidya and the police man
4.A gr8 acting .......special mentions: VIDYA BALAN.....well she was in nthing but a super dooper form.....her character portrayal....superb....her presence....majestic....she literally lights up the screen(as stated correctly by Rajiv Masand).......The cop tht helps vidya....excellent....the head cop....excellent(though he looked a bit funny at some places were he was nt meant to be).....THE SERIAL KILLER....very short role....but super effective....a definite contender in best negative role(if the award shows are unbiased).....
5.Music...nthing pathbreaking...but a special mention deserver....

though one character artist(the boss of the serial killer...though in a very small role) was pathetic....and the deepness of the film is sufficient to make it gr8.....but i kant really say about it being sufficient to make the film a classic....
But overall...wht an impactful film......3 and half out of 5

Saturday, March 10, 2012

The Artist


In my knowledge of myself, tht I gathered after thinking a lot(abt me being Oscar biased or not).. I think I am not....u may think differently.....but whatever......I found The Artist SUPERB...............the film is very very engaging......u really arnt able to think for even a second in between(which is itself a big achievement keeping in mind the genre of the film being a silent drama....which was required very much to get people the feel of Valentine..)....with so much happening all around....some predictable scenes...some scenes you think you have seen glimpses of in our bollywood(though the film never loses its CHARM)...but as the story moves on....the film literally defines the word artist(courtesy : The line " I am an Artist not a Puppet")...with the protagonist`s struggle,pride,belief in his work he does as The Artist....his destruction bcz of the drown of his art......the love he has for his silent cinema....courtesy : the scene were he burns his reels and then saves the one with which he had  greatest memories....the one tht invokes tht feeling of burning himself with his work.....the one tht has his love  interest in it(who becomes the pioneer in the art tht destroys his art.....bt wht to say...tht were his best moments ...).....superb.................And then there is a scene were he realises the possible fall of his art....the scene were he hears voices.........is the scene mann!!!....Thumbs Up to THT LEVEL OF CREATIVITY.......also not to forget the last scene....were everything gets voice....and HIS  REDISCOVERY OF HIS ART BCZ OF HER....super duper...........
.................going to CHEMISTRY......... between the dog and The Artist is well described ...assuming the fact tht u as an audience donot think the dog`s intelligence to be over the top....and hence unreal.....but y would one think like tht...its a character afterall.....if there can be Einsteins among us....cant the dog breed produce something like tht............well coming back.....the LOVE STORY....... .........it develops well and differently...bcz of the fact tht the two lovers would have been hating each other like hell if they were nt in love... bcz of each other`s art being the opposition of the other.................the ACTING... Jean Dujardin.....well he was nothing bt phenomenal.....his presence ...his stature......his expressions(tht go deeper and deeper as the film progresses)....nthing bt awesome.....definitely in level (even above)to wht GEORGE CLOONEY did in The Descendants........ rest cast was overshadowed bcz of Jean....bt they were very good and no less.........
CINEMATOGRAPHY.....good ...very good.....bt nt pathbreaking......overall.....a MUST WATCH FOR THE CINEMA LOVERS....AND THE ARTISTS ......BCZ THESE ARE THE PEOPLE WHO WILL GET THOSE FEELINGS BEHIND THE PROTAGONIST......ALMOST 4 OUT OF 5

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

MONEY BALL


2 years back....with having not seen any work of Brad Pitt....I used to consider him just like Tom Cruiz....good looking actor with no acting skills.....bt den I saw Curious Case of Bejamin Button....and was blown up by his performance....and den I saw more of his flicks and realised how wrong I interpreted him.....and den I saw   
 Moneyball yesterday..... and Pitt was spectacular in it......definitely appropriate step by the Oscars to add him in the best actor nominee(though I found Clooney better in The descendants  and rest best actor nominees` work I havnt seen yet)....... 
Coming to the film......its one of those types whose execution is just phenomenal(just like The Hurt Locker)...............the film has no big dramatic scenes.....rather moves with a plain screenplay.....but what works in the film is the way certain the various parts are handled....the development of the Superstitious Brad Pitt`s character....THE FATHER DAUGHTER RELATION......the application of the strategy......THE 20th WIN(SPECTACULAR).....The last scene(superb).......
But the film to a very little extent .....drags a little.....though thts not even a drawback....
The daughter of GM(BRAD PITT) was superb......and so was the Algorithm developer(and y was he not given any crdit???).....
Overall wonderful experience....3 and half outa 5