PART-5.... jiit fresher's play 2010..

Monday, March 12, 2012

KAHAANI


And bollywood impresses again......with producing its best thriller till date.......The film has showcased a lot in one package.........1.a gr8 THRILLER DIRECTION & SCREENPLAY combo....tht gets the interest to build up slowly ...ultimately blowing away viewers` minds.....with a totally unpredictable climax.....and very interesting one too(arjun ka saarthi...super creative dialogue.......and not forget the concept of KAHAANI)......
2. a gr8 showcase of the city...The director very intelligently presents the city making it so very appealing,deep and deep rooted in its history....
3.a very well developed relation between vidya and arnab...(tht attaches soul to the film)...and vidya and the police man
4.A gr8 acting .......special mentions: VIDYA BALAN.....well she was in nthing but a super dooper form.....her character portrayal....superb....her presence....majestic....she literally lights up the screen(as stated correctly by Rajiv Masand).......The cop tht helps vidya....excellent....the head cop....excellent(though he looked a bit funny at some places were he was nt meant to be).....THE SERIAL KILLER....very short role....but super effective....a definite contender in best negative role(if the award shows are unbiased).....
5.Music...nthing pathbreaking...but a special mention deserver....

though one character artist(the boss of the serial killer...though in a very small role) was pathetic....and the deepness of the film is sufficient to make it gr8.....but i kant really say about it being sufficient to make the film a classic....
But overall...wht an impactful film......3 and half out of 5

Saturday, March 10, 2012

The Artist


In my knowledge of myself, tht I gathered after thinking a lot(abt me being Oscar biased or not).. I think I am not....u may think differently.....but whatever......I found The Artist SUPERB...............the film is very very engaging......u really arnt able to think for even a second in between(which is itself a big achievement keeping in mind the genre of the film being a silent drama....which was required very much to get people the feel of Valentine..)....with so much happening all around....some predictable scenes...some scenes you think you have seen glimpses of in our bollywood(though the film never loses its CHARM)...but as the story moves on....the film literally defines the word artist(courtesy : The line " I am an Artist not a Puppet")...with the protagonist`s struggle,pride,belief in his work he does as The Artist....his destruction bcz of the drown of his art......the love he has for his silent cinema....courtesy : the scene were he burns his reels and then saves the one with which he had  greatest memories....the one tht invokes tht feeling of burning himself with his work.....the one tht has his love  interest in it(who becomes the pioneer in the art tht destroys his art.....bt wht to say...tht were his best moments ...).....superb.................And then there is a scene were he realises the possible fall of his art....the scene were he hears voices.........is the scene mann!!!....Thumbs Up to THT LEVEL OF CREATIVITY.......also not to forget the last scene....were everything gets voice....and HIS  REDISCOVERY OF HIS ART BCZ OF HER....super duper...........
.................going to CHEMISTRY......... between the dog and The Artist is well described ...assuming the fact tht u as an audience donot think the dog`s intelligence to be over the top....and hence unreal.....but y would one think like tht...its a character afterall.....if there can be Einsteins among us....cant the dog breed produce something like tht............well coming back.....the LOVE STORY....... .........it develops well and differently...bcz of the fact tht the two lovers would have been hating each other like hell if they were nt in love... bcz of each other`s art being the opposition of the other.................the ACTING... Jean Dujardin.....well he was nothing bt phenomenal.....his presence ...his stature......his expressions(tht go deeper and deeper as the film progresses)....nthing bt awesome.....definitely in level (even above)to wht GEORGE CLOONEY did in The Descendants........ rest cast was overshadowed bcz of Jean....bt they were very good and no less.........
CINEMATOGRAPHY.....good ...very good.....bt nt pathbreaking......overall.....a MUST WATCH FOR THE CINEMA LOVERS....AND THE ARTISTS ......BCZ THESE ARE THE PEOPLE WHO WILL GET THOSE FEELINGS BEHIND THE PROTAGONIST......ALMOST 4 OUT OF 5

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

MONEY BALL


2 years back....with having not seen any work of Brad Pitt....I used to consider him just like Tom Cruiz....good looking actor with no acting skills.....bt den I saw Curious Case of Bejamin Button....and was blown up by his performance....and den I saw more of his flicks and realised how wrong I interpreted him.....and den I saw   
 Moneyball yesterday..... and Pitt was spectacular in it......definitely appropriate step by the Oscars to add him in the best actor nominee(though I found Clooney better in The descendants  and rest best actor nominees` work I havnt seen yet)....... 
Coming to the film......its one of those types whose execution is just phenomenal(just like The Hurt Locker)...............the film has no big dramatic scenes.....rather moves with a plain screenplay.....but what works in the film is the way certain the various parts are handled....the development of the Superstitious Brad Pitt`s character....THE FATHER DAUGHTER RELATION......the application of the strategy......THE 20th WIN(SPECTACULAR).....The last scene(superb).......
But the film to a very little extent .....drags a little.....though thts not even a drawback....
The daughter of GM(BRAD PITT) was superb......and so was the Algorithm developer(and y was he not given any crdit???).....
Overall wonderful experience....3 and half outa 5